Monday blues?

It’s Sunday evening, and most people are dreading the “Monday Morning Blues”. Me included.

The more I think about it, I realise it’s not Mondays… but Fridays that should be blue. Why? Okay, Monday mornings are a bit blue – I’m going back to work after a lovely two days off. Thinking of all the fun times I’ve had over the weekend. Monday mornings are a bit hectic. But once I’m in the office, and have had my daily dose of caffeine, I’m all ready to tackle whatever the day throws at me. But Fridays? The day just drags on and on and on and on and ….

I often find myself working late on Fridays. I’ve got to finsh everything before I leave for the day. Can’t leave anything pending, and then come back on Monday to find you have forgotten what you were doing. Okay, not that bad memory loss. But I don’t like to start a new work week with the previous week’s backlog. It’s not that on other days – you can always be at work a bit early the next day. I simply must finish everything. At least bring things to a logical conclusion.

So whenever I hear a colleague say TGIF!! on a Friday morning, I cringe. No. Don’t thank anyone. It’s going to be a long day (for me at least).

I’m thinking of changing it to TGIM, and Friday Blues. Anyone with me?

Leave a Reply

